I Don't Know What The F@ck I'm Doing

Episode 1

Do you know anything about marketing, content, or startups in general? Me neither!

Do you want to learn? Me too!

My name is Garrett Duncan – I am a 25-year-old commercial plumbing and HVAC Assistant Project Manager by day, and a Community Manager and wannabe entrepreneur by night. After one copywriting course (CopyThat by Sam and Sara Parr), a whole bunch of inspiring stories courtesy of the My First Million podcast, and 4 years studying marketing at LSU… I’ve decided to get off my ass and do something. (I’ll pause here so you can roar with applause.) Now, I don’t expect anyone to read this “newsletter”, it’s more so I can prove I am capable of stringing thoughts together in a coherent manner should I ever need to. This will be my attempt to come up with at least one gem or piece of info I find worth sharing per week.

This week I am going to pick the low hanging fruit and highlight a program I have had the honor of working on myself. The Built in Miami Startup Program is being put on by Venture Miami and The Shrimp Society along with Argent Strategies. It’s a yearlong initiative designed to support the massive talent base in Miami by providing, for free, three distinct phases of educational programming to entrepreneurs with budding ideas and companies.

-The Zero to One Sprint, which is already underway, will help a group of 100+ people to take their first steps in their founder journey. The program provides the opportunity to take your ideas to prototype through hands on guidance from experienced coaches and access to tried-and-true frameworks.

-The Builder Summer will allow founders to participate in 6 weeks of coworking and networking opportunities. If a cofounder is needed, or maybe just someone to bounce some ideas off of – then this is the place for you.

-The capstone of Built in Miami is the Accelerator Program. The Shrimp and Venture Miami will put on informative workshops from startup experts and C-Suite executives. This results driven process will help startups achieve growth, in user base, engagement, and revenue. The tree topper to the Accelerator Program is the investor demo day. Using the knowledge and due diligence gained over the previous months, founders will pitch their companies to local investors in hopes of securing opportunities for funding.

Hopefully, that little spiel got you somewhat interested in the awesomeness that is Built in Miami, or in my future attempts to enlighten myself and the world… or maybe for my first go I should just hope I didn’t put anyone to sleep. Anyway, tune in next week for another episode of I Don’t Know What The F@ck I’m Doing.

Much Love.P.S. Click here if you want to check out Built in Miami.

Reply

or to participate.